Founders' Medal Recipients 2020


With the postponement of the XXIX ICMRBS conference, now planned for 2022, the recipients will present their Founders’ Medal lectures at the next ICMRBS gathering. In the meantime, both recipients have shared their research with lectures in the Emerging Magnetic Resonance series, available via the ICMRBS YouTube site.

Nicholas Cox, currently a Senior Lecturer in Chemistry at the Australian National University, is recognized for his achievement in developing and applying high-field EPR techniques to elucidate water splitting in oxidative photosynthesis and to the study of metal cofactors in metalloenzymes.

Paul Schanda, currently a principal investigator in solid-state NMR at the Institute of Structural Biology in Grenoble, is recognized for his achievement in developing solid-state NMR techniques for studying protein dynamics and applying these techniques to understand membrane protein transporters, chaperones, and enzyme complexes.

Previous Recipients of the Founders' Medal


2018 Lynette Cegelski, Stanford University, USA, and Sebastian Hiller, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Switzerland


2016 Adam Lange, Humbolt University, Berlin, Germany


2014 Christopher Jaroniec, Ohio State University, USA


2012 Hashim Al-Hashimi, University of Michigan, USA


2010 Mei Hong, Iowa State University, USA


2008 Chad Rienstra, University of Illinois, USA


2006 Marc Baldus, Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany


2005 Nico Tjandra, National Institutes of Health, USA


2002 Lewis Kay, University of Toronto, Canada


More information about the Founders' Medal may be found here