Founders' Medal at ICMRBS XXIX


Nominations for the 2020 Founders' Medal are due by the extended deadline of May 22, 2020


Dear Colleagues,


On behalf of the International Council on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (ICMRBS) and the award selection committee, I would like to invite you to nominate excellent young magnetic resonance spectroscopists for the 2020 Founders' Medal, This prestigious award was established in 2002 by the ICMRBS to recognize exceptional contributions by young scientists to the development and progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems. The awardee will be presented with the medal and US $3000 at the upcoming XXIX ICMRBS meeting, to be held in Boston, USA, on July 18 - 23, 2021. The awardee will be invited to present a lecture at the conference. The awardee should be no more than 12 years post-Ph.D., plus 1 year for each child, at the time of the ICMRBS meeting. 

Nominations should be submitted to by Friday May 22, 2020. The nomination package should include: 

  • a signed nomination letter (self-nominations are not allowed); 
  • outline of the nominee's exceptional contributions; and 
  • the nominee's CV and publication list. 

We hope that you will take a moment to nominate highly talented and dynamic young NMR spectroscopists, and help to keep our field vibrant and innovative. 




Previous Recipients of the Founders' Medal


2018 Lynette Cegelski, Stanford University, USA, and Sebastian Hiller, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Switzerland


2016 Adam Lange, Humbolt University, Berlin, Germany


2014 Christopher Jaroniec, Ohio State University, USA


2012 Hashim Al-Hashimi, University of Michigan, USA


2010 Mei Hong, Iowa State University, USA


2008 Chad Rienstra, University of Illinois, USA


2006 Marc Baldus, Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany


2005 Nico Tjandra, National Institutes of Health, USA


2002 Lewis Kay, University of Toronto, Canada


More information about the Founders' Medal may be found here